Green Frog Umbrella

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Wild About You series books 1-4

Since it's been awhile since I read them I'm just going to group together all 4 of these books for my review.  I got all of these books on audio so that I would have something to listen to while I was sick.  I liked books 3 and 4 more than the others but the series as a whole was a bit disappointing.

★★★☆☆A Werewolf in Manhattan is about Emma and Aiden.  The only reason that I gave this book 3 stars is because I really liked Aiden and it had a good storyline.  He was a nice and genuinely caring person.  He seriously didn't deserve the way he was treated by Emma.  Emma was a complete snob.  She's one of those people who has her own beliefs about the way things should be and if anyone else is different than they must be wrong.  I liked her at first until she kept getting more and more worked up about Aiden's money.  Like it's his fault he was born with money.  Then there were her beliefs about the environment and my gosh nobody better disagree with her there.  Aiden seemed to think she had spirit.  I did not, I just found it annoying.  Poor Aiden should have found another girl.

A Werewolf in the North Woods was a little bit better than A Werewolf in Manhattan but I still didn't feel like it was a 4 star book.  This one is about Aiden's brother Roark and Abby.  Roark is visiting another pack to help with the backlash from Abby's grandfather's bigfoot sighting on the other pack's land.  It was a cute story but at the same time the whole I shouldn't be with a human thing gets kinda old.  I liked both Roark and Abby and found the treck to find bigfoot with a geek that they picked up along the way highly entertaining.

Werewolf in Seattle was a lot better than the previous two books in the series.  Perhaps because they are both werewolf's?  But still there's the whole she's half-human.  *gasp*  What a scandal.  I liked Colin and Luna a lot.  There was a great storyline with a few surprises along the way.  Colin goes to America to sell the house of his aunt that had died... but Luna doesn't want him to sell because it's the only home that she's been happy at since her human mother died when she was 8.  This is one of those pretty much love-at-first-sight-but-too-stupid-to-realize-it books.

Werewolf in Denver was the best book out of all 4 that I read from this series.  Duncan is Colin's brother from the last book.  In Werewolf in Seattle Colin rushes back to Scotland to talk his brother out of mating with a human.  Duncan realizes that he was only wanting to mate with her to make a point that werewolfs should be able to mate with humans.  In Werewolf in Denver he takes that to a whole new level by being the leader of a group called WOOF that wants to out themselves to humans. Standing in his way is Kate leader of HOWL.  She wants to keep the secrets.  She of course is a werewolf.  Not what Duncan thought he'd fall for.  Kate didn't expect to fall for him either.  This book was hilarious.  Especially the werewolf version of Twitter.

There is one more book in this series that is out already and that is Werewolf in Alaska.  The problem is it's main character is Jake who I couldn't stand in Werewolf in Denver.  I hate it when authors make us hate a character and then expect us to just like them in the next book.  Jake hates humans so of course the book is about him and a human neighbor Rachael.  I read several reviews trying to decide whether to listen to this one too and decided against it.  It seems that it's more of the same humans are bad, bla, bla, bla.  So there you have it... my reviews on 1-4 and why I didn't read 5.  If you're looking for some funny werewolf humor than you might like this series.  The books get better and better with each one.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Sick = Read-a-Thon?

So I haven't been feeling well lately.  I did manage to get in a few COYER reviews and such last week but other than that I've been pretty much AWOL from my blog, Goodreads, BookLikes, Twitter and Facebook.  I listened to 2 different series on audio and read another whole series on ebook.  So I have a lot of reviews to write and I'm not really sure how I'm going to do it.  I might just group them together for the blog by series.

I read from the Wild About You series (on audio) by Vicki Lewis Thompson: A Werewolf in Manhattan, Werewolf in the North Woods, Werewolf in Seattle and Werewolf in Denver. From the Mating Heat series (on audio) by Laurann Dohner: Mate Set and His Purrfect Mate.  Then from the Shifters Unbound series by Jennifer Ashley: Shifter Made, Pride Mates, Primal Bonds, Bodyguard, Wild Cat, Hard Mated, Mate Claimed, Unbound, Lone Wolf and Tiger Magic.  Whew!  Yes I know it's a lot but I basically did nothing but read for over a week.  So look for those reviews in the next few days.  I just realized they are all shifter books!  Too funny.

Friday, November 22, 2013

Into the Fire Super Book Blast!


The Virus changed them, but that was only the beginning…


…all that remains is hope.

In the wake of destruction left behind by the Virus, it took Dani and Zoe months to find each other. But their reunion was short-lived. Dani has been taken, and though little distance separates them, they might as well be worlds apart.

From the moment she hears Dani’s scream, Zoe’s only goal is to save her best friend. She and her companions scramble to come up with a rescue plan, but when a ghost from Jake’s past reappears, lines are blurred, decisions become harder, and secrets are revealed…and some secrets are best left buried. To keep heartache and fear from consuming her, Zoe must cling to her determination. She will see Dani again.

Dani awakens inside the final hold-out of civilization: the Colony. Remnants of the former world surround her—electricity, safety, social order—but all is not what it seems. As she faces her most manipulative adversary yet, she loses sight of who she is and who she can trust. Friends become enemies, enemies become allies, and allies will betray her. Dani will have to decide what she’s willing to do and whose lives she’s willing to risk if she is to have any chance of breaking free.   


I froze. He’s leaving. I glared at Jake’s back, but feeling his misery, my anger quickly subsided. “We can figure something—”

“Stop!” He pulled his arm back and slammed his fist into the wall, denting it. “There’s nothing to figure out. My sister will not be used as a pawn.” His face fell. He leaned back and brought his hand up to pinch the bridge of his nose. “I wouldn’t be able to live with myself.”

He’s already made up his mind. Instantly, I started to question everything about Jake and me…about us. My reservations from the first time I met him—the first time he saved me, opened his mouth, and pushed me away—flared to life, and I chided myself for being so naïve. I knew something like this would happen.

The questions jumped off my tongue before I could contain them. “What about Dani? What about me? You’re just going to leave?”

When he didn’t respond, reality burst overhead like a looming storm cloud, clearing away the fog that had settled in my heart and mind. How could I have been so stupid?

The conversation we’d had on the dock back in St. Louis resurfaced from under a month’s-worth of foolhardy emotions. Jake’s words replayed in my mind.

“For whatever reason, I know you don’t want to let me in…or maybe you just don’t know how…what are you afraid of?”

This. This feeling of inexplicable loss was what I’d been afraid of—the living lump of hysteria swelling in my throat, the desperation in my heart. I couldn’t swallow it away.

Biting the inside of my cheek as hard as possible, I willed myself to calm down. Keep it together, Zoe.

Jake strode past me to Becca, pulling her up to her feet.

Lunging at him, I pushed against his chest as hard as I could. “You’re leaving?” He stumbled away from Becca, and I pushed him again. “You’re going to kill Dani!” I shoved against his shoulder. “You’re going to kill us all if you take her!” I smack his chest. “I won’t let you ruin everything.” I won’t let you break my heart! I pushed, shoved, and slapped him again and again. “You son of a bitch!”

Jake gripped my arms firmly, immobilizing me and forcing me to look up at him. His eyebrows lifted with sympathy…or is it sorrow? I was too upset to differentiate between his emotions and mine.

“Let go,” I warbled.

As he opened his mouth to speak, a gunshot cracked through the air, and Jake yanked me down to the floor.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Lindsey Fairleigh lives her life with one foot in a book—as long as that book transports her to a magical world or bends the rules of science. Her novels, from post-apocalyptic to time travel and historical fantasy, always offer up a hearty dose of unreality, along with plenty of adventure and romance. When she's not working on her next novel, Lindsey spends her time reading and trying out new recipes in the kitchen. She lives in the Napa Valley with her loving husband and confused cats.

Lindsey Pogue has always been a little creative. As a child she established a bug hospital on her elementary school soccer field, compiled books of collages as a teenager, and as an adult, expresses herself through writing. Her novels are inspired by her observations of the world around her--whether she's traveling, people watching, or hiking. When not plotting her next story line or dreaming up new, brooding characters, Lindsey's wrapped in blankets watching her favorite action flicks or going on road trips with her own leading man.







Buy links:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday #5

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday! This is a weekly meme hosted by: Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week.

You Are It! We are playing #FF tag this week. Comment on as many blogs as you can, even if they aren’t participating in #FF. Just say Happy #FF! At the end of your comment. Keep a running total if you want and update your post with it. The bigger the number the more impressed we will be!

My #FF Number: 56

This should be fun!  I will be updating this post all day long as I say Happy #FF to everyone!  Please post your current number in the comments... I'd love to see how everyone is doing in #FF tag!

**Stop by Into the Fire Super Book Blast to enter to win a $15.00 Amazon giftcard**

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Born in Blood ★★★★☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Alexandra Ivy
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: NetGalley- Kensington Books
352 pages

In a stunning new paranormal romance series—even edgier than her bestselling Guardians of Eternity books—New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Ivy lures readers into the dark, seductive world of the Sentinels—humans outcast by their hidden abilities, treading the line between life and death, good and evil, pleasure and pain…

Born In Blood

Sergeant Duncan O’Conner has seen it all before. A beautiful erotic dancer is found murdered in her home—no suspect, no motive. But there’s one clue: she’s missing her heart. It’s enough to make the hard-bitten Kansas City cop enlist the help of a necro—one of the dead-channeling freaks who live in the domed city of nearby Valhalla. It’s a long shot, but desperate crimes call for desperate measures.

Unlike the other “high-bloods” in Valhalla, Callie Brown considers her abilities a gift, not a curse. But when she reads the dancer’s final thoughts, she senses a powerful presence blocking her vision. This is no ordinary homicide. This is the work of a legendary necromancer who controls souls. A ravenous force that will put Callie’s skills to the test, O’Conner’s career at risk, and both their hearts on the line…literally.

     When I was flipping through the NetGalley site and saw Alexandra Ivy's name I had to request the book. I love her Guardian's of Eternity series. After reading Born in Blood I think that The Sentinels series could be even better. I really liked this book. It had me hooked from the start. It's not really a fast-paced book but more like a mystery where you're trying to figure out what's going to happen next. Add to that a steaming hot romance and this book has it all. My only complaint is that the cover model looks like Anya and not Callie. Callie has short spiky hair and Duncan describes her as looking like a pixie. I guess that isn't as photogenic. I hate it when they do that!

     My favorite character in this book was Duncan. He's the kind of guy any girl would be happy with. A good guy through and through. Duncan and Callie have worked together for years and both have fantasied about the other through that time. When there's a really strange murder Duncan sees his chance and insists on going to Valhalla with Callie. Sparks fly and it's one of those sweet relationships that you don't see enough of in the Paranormal Romance genre. Of course with every book like this we need the enemy... so there's Zak and Anya. As far as bad guys go I felt kinda meh about these two. It's the classic take over the world scenario and I just wasn't feeling it.

     All in all this was a great book and I look forward to more from The Sentinels series. I expected nothing less from Alexandra Ivy. The concept of "high-bloods" and Valhalla was unique and refreshing. Especially since two humans could produce a high-blood child. To me, it seems more like The X-men type of idea really. People born with special abilities are expected to stay together in basically a city in a bubble not interacting with "humans" unless they are needed like Callie is to help solve murders and such. I can totally see something like this happening in real life because people always fear the unknown. The whole book except mabye some parts with Zak was very believable. The next book in the series Hunt the Darkness is set to be published in June of 2014.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Redemption ★★★☆☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: C.J. Barry
Genre: Metaphysical Thriller
Source: NetGalley- (Forever) Grand Central Publishing
336 pages

Reya Sinclair is a Redeemer of Souls. Her mission is to give Earth’s most depraved sinners a shot at redemption just before they are slated to die. Her own redemption is on the line as she fulfills her duties, leaving a trail of dead bodies in her wake. It’s all going perfectly well until one detective takes notice, possibly bringing her salvation to a halt.

Thane Driscoll is a good cop who’s seen too many bad guys get away, including the man who murdered his father. He exacts his own style of justice, even if it costs him his humanity. A string of mysterious deaths leads him to a woman who’s not quite human and might hold the key to finding his father’s killer.

When death and shadows descend, New York City becomes a battleground for the forces of light and dark. As the body count rises and sparks fly between them, Reya and Thane race to uncover a terrible truth. Can one man hell-bent on revenge and one woman determined to save her eternal soul be enough to keep the planet from spiraling into darkness?

Friday, November 15, 2013

Freak of Nature ★★★★★ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Julia Crane
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance
Source: NetGalley- Indie Inked
284 pages

Donate Body to Science. Check.
When seventeen-year-old Kaitlyn checked the box, she never suspected she’d have her life–and her body–stolen from her. She awakens one day in a secret laboratory to discover that her body is now half-robot and is forced to hide her own secret: that she still has human emotions and a human mind. If the scientists who made her find out, they’ll erase what remains of who she was.

Kaitlyn finds an unlikely ally in Lucas, a handsome, brilliant scientist who can’t get over the guilt he feels knowing she was once a vibrant, beautiful young woman. He never expected a science project to affect him the way she does. As he tries to help her rediscover her past, he finds himself falling for the brave girl struggling to find her place and acceptance between the human and computer worlds.

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday #4

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday! This is a weekly meme hosted by: Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week.  Guess what?  I'm one of those featured this week!  Yay! 

This weeks question was: Are there any book to movie adaptations where you think the movie is better than the book?

This was a tough one!  I've been thinking about it all week.... 

At first I thought no there are none.  I have been disappointed over and over by movies made from books.  I thought of:


Not to mention tv show adaptations such as:

Then yesterday I thought of one!

So there you have it!  Out of all of the movie adaptations of books the only ones that I could think of that I liked the movies more than the books were the Narnia books.  There is actually one book I refuse to read because I liked the movie so much.  I'm afraid if I read it I will hate the movie like I do most other movies made from books:

The Hunger Games!

Mr. Red Riding Hoode ★★★☆☆

Author: Dana Marie Bell
Genre: Paranormal Romance
97 pages

The better to make you mine, my dear…

When it came down to saving his best friend Ben’s relationship, Steven Hoode didn't hesitate to trade his Florida timeshare for a month at Red Wolf Lodge. Cold weather isn't his favorite thing, but hot snow bunnies are, so he plans to make the most of his vacation.

Good karma kicks in when he sees a pretty brunette chatting with the lodge owner. All thoughts of nuptials and nookie take a back seat to the heat that flares between them.

When Graciela “Chela” Mendoza catches sight of the gorgeous man shivering in a red-hooded parka, she realizes why he makes her heart beat faster. He’s her mate. The problem? Steven has no idea his friends are Wolves.

Chela plans to break it to him gently, but when he accidently witnesses the whole Pack shifting, things get a bit…hairy. He bolts, locking himself in his cabin and refusing to listen, even to Ben.

Unless she can get him to see that Wolves are people, too, Chela will lose her mate faster than she can say woof.

Warning: This book contains explicit sex, graphic language, a man packing some nice goodies and a she-Wolf all ready to gobble them up.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

The Cowboy's E-mail Order Bride ★★★1/2

Author: Cora Seton
Genre: Contemporary Romance
228 pages

Ethan Cruz should be mending fences on his Montana ranch, but instead he’s driving to the Chance Creek, Montana, airport – to pick up the bride he didn’t know he had. This latest salvo in his ongoing practical joke battle with his best friend, Rob Matheson, has gone too far, and Ethan plans to send his “bride” right back home, then get busy plotting his revenge. One look at Autumn Leeds changes his mind, however. Perhaps he needs a bride, after all. A breathtakingly beautiful city bride.

Autumn Leeds needs a story – fast – or she’s going to lose her lucrative contract with CityPretty Magazine, so when she sees the crazy video plea for a modern mail-order bride for a cowboy, it sounds like the story of the century. Making a video of her own, she casts herself as the perfect mail-order bride for a rancher, but when she finally reaches Montana, she’s surprised to find Ethan’s the perfect cowboy husband-to-be. Against her better judgment, her plan to keep her handsome groom at arm’s length disintegrates into a night of passion spent in his arms.

Ethan knows he can’t keep playing this game – he has to come clean with Autumn and tell her the truth; about the practical joke and about the state of his ranch. He’s about to lose it all because of the debts his mother racked up before his parents’ deaths. Now his sister, Claire, wants to sell the ranch and collect what little money they can. He’ll be out of a home and a job, and in no shape to support the bride he desperately wants to marry, after all.

Autumn’s in bigger trouble than ever. Not only has she fallen in love with the subject of her expose – she might be carrying his child. If she doesn’t write this article and secure her contract for another year, she’ll lose everything – her career, her apartment, and more importantly, her family’s approval. The only alternative is to stay and marry Ethan. But how can she trust a man she’s just met when she knows too well that men always let you down?

Can a love based on lies last?

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Yellowstone Heart Song ★★★★☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Peggy L. Henderson
Genre: Time Travel Romance
Source: Kindle Freebie
278 pages

Nurse and avid backpacker Aimee Donovan is offered the opportunity of a lifetime. She encounters a patient who tells her he can send her two hundred years into the past to spend three months in the rugged Yellowstone wilderness at the dawn of the mountain man era. The only requirement: she cannot tell anyone that she’s from the future.

How did a white woman suddenly appear in the remote Rocky Mountain wilderness? Trapper Daniel Osborne’s first instinct is to protect this mysterious and unconventional woman from the harsh realities of his mountains. While he fights his growing attraction to her, he is left frustrated by her lies and secrecy.

Daniel shows Aimee a side of Yellowstone she’s never experienced. She is torn between her feelings for him, and exposing a secret that will destroy everything he holds as truth. As her three months come to an end, she is faced with a dilemma: return to her own time, or stay with the man who opened her eyes to a whole new world. When the decision is made for her, both their lives will be changed forever.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Come Home to Me ★★★★★ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Peggy L. Henderson
Genre: Time Travel Romance
Source: Kindle Freebie
252 pages

Jake Owens is tired of life on his parents’ Montana ranch, catering to city folk who want a taste of old-fashioned country living. He enjoys life in the fast lane, with fast cars and even faster women. When he falls in with the wrong crowd and is accused of murder, a stranger’s bizarre offer at a second chance might be his only hope to clear his name.

Rachel Parker is highly devoted to her family. A tragedy prompts a daring move to the Oregon Territory for a fresh start in a new land. After meeting the wagon train’s scout, the meaning of a fresh start may be more than she ever imagined. 

Jake can’t believe he’s been sent back in time to act as scout for a wagon train headed for Oregon, and given the added burden of keeping one emigrant woman safe during the journey. He and Rachel are confused by their attraction to each other. Jake’s ill-mannered, unconventional ways are overshadowed only by his notorious reputation. Rachel’s traditional values and quiet, responsible character are the complete opposite of what attracts Jake to a woman. When their forbidden attraction turns to love, what will happen at the end of the trail?

Sunday, November 10, 2013

The Cowgirl Ropes a Billionaire ★★★★☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Cora Seton
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: NetGalley
286 pages

Bella Chatham will lose everything – her veterinary practice, her animal shelter, and even her home – if she can’t find another source of income, fast. So when her best friend signs her up for the hot new reality television show, Can You Beat a Billionaire, Bella accepts the challenge and hopes against hope she can win the ten million dollar prize. If she doesn’t, it’s bye-bye pet clinic and shelter, bye-bye Chance Creek, Montana, and hello to marriage to the billionaire for a year! 

Evan Mortimer, billionaire, can’t believe he’s reduced to competing in a television contest to win a wife. Unfortunately, it’s the only foolproof way to secure his position as head of Mortimer Innovations. At least he’ll be able to dump his “spouse” at the end of the year. He has no intention of getting hitched for life.

Bella doesn’t expect her adversary to be handsome – or funny, or compassionate – but Evan’s all three, and he’s proving a tough competitor, too. When they end up sharing a tent – and a sleeping-bag – her body betrays her with a longing so deep it cuts her to the core. Still, this cowgirl must stay strong. If Evan uncovers her secret fears, he’ll use them to win the contest – and then he’ll own her for a year. She’ll be out of luck, out of cash, and stuck being Mrs. Mortimer until he kicks her to the curb. Too bad she can’t decide which is worse – winning the show and losing Evan forever, or losing the show and only being his temporary wife.

Evan can’t believe he’s falling for the one woman who doesn’t want him. This cowgirl’s not impressed by his money, his name, or his inability to sleep in a tent with her for an entire night, but every look and touch she gives him sends his desire through the roof. With a director determined to use his claustrophobia to make him look like a fool, and an adversary so sexy he can hardly see straight, he’ll need all his savvy to come out on top. Too bad he’s going to lose no matter how this show turns out. If he beats Bella, he’ll destroy the first woman he’s ever loved. If he doesn’t beat her, it’s bye-bye Mortimer Innovations.

Will either of them remember in time that it’s not who wins or who loses – it’s how they play the game that really counts?

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Allegiant (Divergent Trilogy #3) ★☆☆☆☆

Author: Veronica Roth
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult
526 pages

One choice will define you.

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

To Conspire ★★★★☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Sara B. Gauldin 
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: ARC
86 pages

To Conspire is a fast paced mystery and crime drama that brings the element of conspiracy at all levels of public infrastructure into question. The story is based on a Detective who is ordered by her commanding officer to investigate the disappearances of several bankers off of the record. She is teamed up with a gentleman who ultimately causes her to question the simplistic view she has on crime.

     I find it ironic that I was just commenting on a novella and saying that they usually leave me feeling like the book lacked something.  To Conspire was only lacking in the sense that I would have liked for it to go on.  Perhaps author Sara Gauldin was hoping to leave the rest to our imaginations.  I know I have my own ideas of what I would like to happen next.  Actually I'd be very interested in another novella or book with Avery Rich and Ryan Kain.  I love watching movies like this but seldom read books in this genre anymore.  Despite being short it was action packed.  

     The main characters are Avery and Kain.  Avery is a police detective that is new to the area.  Her commanding officer tells her that he has brought her in to help investigate the disappearances of bankers.  He tells her that he can't trust anyone else to investigate and that it's off the books.  He tells her to meet up with Kain who is a known conspiracy theorist.  I would love to read more about Kain.  It's understandable in the story that the doesn't go out and give all of the info from his whole life away but the little crumbs that were given left me wanting more.  Avery and Kain team up to find the missing bankers but end up finding out a lot more and nearly lose their lives in the process.  

     This was a fast paced and action packed read.  Despite being a novella it doesn't lack in details.  I would recommend this to anyone who likes crime dramas, mysteries, conspiracy theories or are just looking for something different.  I would definitely read more from author Sara Gauldin.

Favorite Quotes:

"Part of me wondered if there was another side to this paranoid person, a side that could be open and receptive to another human being."

"Even if I survive this chain of events I doubt I will ever truly understand Ryan Kain.  Every time I think I am making headway figuring him out he says or does something to throw me off."

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Feature & Follow Friday #3

Welcome to Feature and Follow Friday! This is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week.  This weeks question was: Why would you be the best feature ever?  Make a video response.  I had a bit of a hard time thinking of what to do as a response.  I figured I'd just make a funny video of the animals on my farm.  It's pretty goofy.  So here is my video response to this weeks question:

To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

  1. (RequiredFollow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
  2. (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say "hi" in your comments and that they are now following you.
  5. If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn't have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
  6. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don't just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don't say "HI"
  7. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers
  8. If you're new to the follow friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

The Ghost and the Graveyard ★★★★★ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Genevieve Jack
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Kindle Freebie
308 pages

**The Ghost and The Graveyard is a funny, exciting, and sexy read intended for adults. Due to sexual content, language, and violence this book is recommended for ages 18+** 

Grateful Knight isn't looking for love when she moves into a rent-free house on the edge of a graveyard. At twenty-two, all she wants is to recover financially so she can move back to the city where she belongs. 

But sparks fly when the gorgeous cemetery caretaker, Rick, introduces himself and mentions his suspicion that her new house might be haunted. Her attraction to him seems supernatural, and despite her resolve to not get involved, she literally can't keep her hands off him. 

When things in Grateful's house start moving on their own, another man enters her life, Logan, a sexy ghost with a dark secret. He says Rick isn't what he seems, and indulging her passion for him could cost her soul. 

One thing's for sure, magical forces are at work in the tiny town of Red Grove, and they're converging on Grateful. Life will never be the same once she's forced to choose between the ghost and the graveyard.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Capri's Fate ★★★☆☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Daryl Devore
Genre: Paranormal Romance; Erotica
Source: Kindle Freebie
229 pages

What's a woman to do when a voice follows her home and makes mad, passionate love to her? 

Corporate business woman, Capricious Gray, is dragged to a sex toy convention by her best friend. Once a shocking, mysterious disembodied voice helps her with her purchases, it follows her home. Passion ensues, leaving Capri torn between lust for her fantasy lover and the desperate need for reality in her life.

Thall, son of one of the Fates, harbors the irrepressible need to be with the woman he's desired from afar for years. In order to make her his, once and for all, he must help Capri get past her fears, including the fear of what he represents - a fantasy.

Can fantasy become a reality for these two lovers?

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Accidentally in Love With... A God? ★★★☆☆ | #COYER Book Review

Author: Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: NetGalley
294 pages

     Twenty-two-year-old Emma Keane has a secret friend. He’s powerful, mysterious, and devastatingly handsome. In her dreams, anyway. 

In real life, he’s an enigma. Maybe just a teensie jealous. Definitely overbearing. He’s also a voice only she can hear. 

So who or what is he? He won’t say. But if she wants to be free, to be normal, Emma will have to trek to the jungles once ruled by the Mayans and find the forgotten ruin holding the answers.

However, the ruthless deity she’s about to unknowingly unleash on the modern world might not be so easily extracted from her life. Bottom line, he’s got enemies, and now, so does she. 

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Reverb ★★★★☆ | #COYER Book Review

Warning: This book may not be suitable for all audiences.  It has flashbacks to rape and torture.

Written by: J. Cafesin
Genres: Psychological Thriller; Romantic Suspense

James Whren is brilliant, beautiful, rich, and taken—with his genius for creating music. Desired by many, he commits to no one but his muse. On the eve of his brother's funeral his father shatters his life, and James is left abandoned in hell with no one real to save him.

His odyssey to freedom takes him beyond the looking glass, to the reflection of friends and lovers. Humbled and alone, James escapes to the Greek island of Corfu. But instead of finding solace there, loneliness consumes him.

Until Elisabeth, and her son, Cameron...

Reverb is a love story, a psychological thriller paced with romantic suspense. It is a tale of redemption—the evolution of a modern man from solipsist to integrated awareness, the journey inadvertently awakening his capacity to love.

Blogger Widgets