Green Frog Umbrella

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

(Review) 6th Grave on the Edge ★★☆☆☆

Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson
Genre: Urban Fantasy
352 pages

Few things in life can come between a grim reaper and her coffee, but the sexy, sultry son of Satan is one of them. Now that Reyes Farrow has asked for her hand, Charley Davidson feels it's time to learn more about his past, but Reyes is reluctant to open up. When the official FBI file of his childhood abduction lands in her lap, Charley decides to go behind her mysterious beau’s back and conduct her own investigation. Because what could go wrong?
Unfortunately, another case has fallen into her lap—one with dangerous implications. Some very insistent men want Charley to hunt down a witness who is scheduled to testify against their boss, a major player in the local crime syndicate. If Charley doesn't come up with an address in 48 hours, the people closest to her will start to disappear.

Add to that a desperate man in search of the soul he lost in a card game, a dogged mother determined to find the ghost of her son, and a beautiful, young Deaf boy haunted by his new ability to see the departed as clearly as he sees the living, and Charley has her hands full. The fact that Reyes has caught on to her latest venture only adds fuel to the inferno that he is. Good thing for Charley she's used to multi-tasking and always up for a challenge…especially when that challenge comes in the form of Reyes Farrow.

Charley Davidson is back in Sixth Grave on the Edge, the sexy and suspenseful sixth installment of the New York Times bestselling series by Darynda Jones.

First of all let me say I started reading this book in May. I read approximately 30% of it before I hit a wall and just couldn't go any further. I tried picking it up again several times over the months but it just couldn't catch my interest. Finally I decided enough is enough this is one of my favorite book series and I'm going to read it darnit! There were good parts that I read really fast and then other parts where I had to put the book down again and again. I'm just so sick of Charley getting herself into trouble. She has no value to her own life and just rushes into everything headfirst without thinking. I know it's been that way in all the books but seriously it's getting old.

I really don't know what I could say about this book that isn't already in the description. Even though the new book Seventh Grave and No Body is out I don't know when I'll get around to reading it. I read the description and it sounds like it starts up right where this one left off. I'm just not in the mood for more of that.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

(Review) Hunted ★★★★★

Author: Kevin Hearne
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles
Genre: Urban Fantasy
384 pages

For a two-thousand-year-old Druid, Atticus O’Sullivan is a pretty fast runner. Good thing, because he’s being chased by not one but two goddesses of the hunt—Artemis and Diana—for messing with one of their own. Dodging their slings and arrows, Atticus, Granuaile, and his wolfhound Oberon are making a mad dash across modern-day Europe to seek help from a friend of the Tuatha Dé Danann. His usual magical option of shifting planes is blocked, so instead of playing hide-and-seek, the game plan is . . . run like hell.

Crashing the pantheon marathon is the Norse god Loki. Killing Atticus is the only loose end he needs to tie up before unleashing Ragnarok—AKA the Apocalypse. Atticus and Granuaile have to outfox the Olympians and contain the god of mischief if they want to go on living—and still have a world to live in.

Yet another great book in the Iron Druid Chronicles series. I am reviewing the audiobook version which is narrated by Luke Daniels yet again. He does such a great job and tops my list of favorite narrators. So much happens in this book I have no idea where to begin. The book starts up exactly where the last book Trapped ended. With Artemis and Diana hunting down Atticus looking for Baccus and the Morrigan defending him. This leads to the Morrigan telling Atticus the only path he can take that she has forseen he would live. Atticus, Granuaile and Oberon have to run the whole way there because once again the paths are blocked to them.

They are hunted by dark elves, vampires and all kinds of different creatures in addition to Artemis and Diana. There was one part around the middle that had me bawling. And if I've said it once I'll say it a hundred times the best books are the ones that make you laugh and make you cry. The books that draw you so close to the characters and their struggles that you feel what they feel. Kevin Hearne does a wonderful job of this. Especially in Hunted. Hunted is the 6th book in the Iron Druid Chronicles. If you like mythology, lots of action and tons of humor you should really check out Hounded which is the first book in the series. You won't regret it.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

(Review) Trapped ★★★★★

Author: Kevin Hearne
Series: The Iron Druid Chronicles
Genre: Urban Fantasy
290 pages

After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O’Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly discovers that he’s still alive, and they would much rather he return to the grave.

Having no other choice, Atticus, his trusted Irish wolfhound, Oberon, and Granuaile travel to the base of Mount Olympus, where the Roman god Bacchus is anxious to take his sworn revenge—but he’ll have to get in line behind an ancient vampire, a band of dark elves, and an old god of mischief, who all seem to have KILL THE DRUID at the top of their to-do lists.

This review is of the audiobook version of Trapped. Once again Luke Daniels does a wonderful job narrating for The Iron Druid series. I especially love his voice for Oberon, the Irish wolfhound. So much happened in Trapped that I'm having a hard time thinking where to start. Like the synopsis says Granuaile has completed her druid training and only has the binding to the earth left before she is a full druid. This is the tattooing process that takes 3 months to complete. The problem is that something is blocking Atticus from traveling to anywhere in Europe except for Greece. This brings up a bigger problem because now that everyone knows that Atticus and Granuaile are alive Atticus has a big target on his back. They have to travel to several different places to complete the tattoos and even once they are complete their problems only get worse. There's a lot of action and humor as always. Even a bit of romance. If you've gotten this far into the series you'll trust me when I say this was most likely my favorite book so far. I'll say no more because I don't want to give anything away.

Favorite Quotes:

"In battle, as in charity, it is better to give than to receive."

"Falling in love is like that: you always feel like a dumbass at some point, even if you know it's coming- it's unavoidable."

"When in doubt blame the dark elves."

Friday, October 31, 2014

Feature & Follow Friday #18

This is a weekly meme hosted by:Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week and have a question for everyone to answer.

This week's question:
What books would you give to newbies in your favorite genre? (Ex. I’m a newbie to high fantasy and EVERYONE said to ease into it with the Throne of Glass series!) via Take Me Away…

I have over 500 books on my paranormal romance shelf on Goodreads.

Paranormal Romance:
(I have no idea why the titles are skewing to the right I can't fix it sorry it looks so weird)

The Dark-Hunter Series-

The Demonica Series-

The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series-

The Psy-Changeling Series-

The Immortals After Dark Series-

The Lords of the Underworld Series-

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

(Review) How to Seduce a Vampire (Without Really Trying) ★★★☆☆

Author: Kerrelyn Sparks
Series: Love at Stake
Genre: Paranormal Romance
374 pages

Vampire Zoltan Czakvar is on the hunt for the truth about his father's death. He's been searching for a very long time—since 1241, in fact. And he is not about to give up, even when he's attacked by a woman with striking blue eyes and a hell of a right hook!

Neona is also on the hunt. She's looking for a mate, and she thinks muscled Zoltan will work just fine. After all, men are good for only one thing. Soon, though, she realizes there's more to this handsome vampire than just sexual prowess. But she's keeping a secret from Zoltan, something so big that it will rock the vampire world.

Can their newfound love survive . . . even if their passion means the destruction of her world?

I have to admit it took me awhile to get through this book. I actually started it months ago and quit reading and just started back last week. It's a lot different than any of the other Love at Stake books. It has it's funny moments but it's a lot more serious than I'm used to from Kerrelyn Sparks. So much was revealed near the end of the book and there were so many loose ends that I expect the story to pick up with the next book right where it left off in this one.

I never paid much attention to Zoltan in the previous books. He's a vampire that lives as a count in Transylvania. That's about all I can remember of him. How to Seduce a Vampire goes into his past and his character. I really got to like him. He's just an all around nice guy. He meets Neona while investigating the murder of his father. Neona had to grow on me. She's like a warrior princess, literally. She lives in the jungle with a group of warrior women. I didn't know what to think of her at first. She's not your usual Love at Stake heroine. But by the end I liked her too.

It's hard to do a review of this book because so many things happen and there are so many secrets that I don't want to ruin for anyone reading this. Let me just say that if you have a hard time getting into it at the beginning like I did it does get better and it gets really good about halfway through. It's worth the read if anything just to keep up with the series because there's no way you could skip this book.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday #7

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list for everyone to answer.

This week's question: Top Ten Characters I'd really want to be for Halloween.  This one was really easy to come up with 10!  I put the first book in each series even if the character I would want to be isn't in the first book to make it easier for anyone interested in the series.  Here they are in no particular order:

1. Mercy Thompson

2. Cat

3. Charley Davidson

4. Kate Daniels

5. Granuaile

6. Jane Jameson

7. Bryn Davis

8.  Nix

9. Simi

10. Alice

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Feature & Follow Friday #17

This is a weekly meme hosted by:Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week and have a question for everyone to answer.

This Week's Question:
Characters, sometimes our favorites, die during books. If you'd get to choose, who would you bring back? - Suggested by Howling for Books





If I could save any character it would be Tris from the Divergent Trilogy.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

(Review) Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs ★★★★★

Author: Molly Harper
Series: Nice Girls Don't...
Genre: Paranormal Romance
355 pages

Maybe it was the Shenanigans gift certificate that put her over the edge. When children's librarian and self-professed nice girl Jane Jameson is fired by her beastly boss and handed twenty-five dollars in potato skins instead of a severance check, she goes on a bender that's sure to become Half Moon Hollow legend. On her way home, she's mistaken for a deer, shot, and left for dead. And thanks to the mysterious stranger she met while chugging neon-colored cocktails, she wakes up with a decidedly unladylike thirst for blood.

Jane is now the latest recipient of a gift basket from the Newly Undead Welcoming Committee, and her life-after-lifestyle is taking some getting used to. Her recently deceased favorite aunt is now her ghostly roommate. She has to fake breathing and endure daytime hours to avoid coming out of the coffin to her family. She's forced to forgo her favorite down-home Southern cooking for bags of O negative. Her relationship with her sexy, mercurial vampire sire keeps running hot and cold. And if all that wasn't enough, it looks like someone in Half Moon Hollow is trying to frame her for a series of vampire murders. What's a nice undead girl to do?

Ok this is my first real review after a 5 month hiatus so be easy on me. I picked this book to re-read because I remembered it as one of my favorites. I spent a lot of time trying to think of a favorite book but couldn't think of one particular book. Instead I had several book series that topped the list in my mind. Nice Girls Don't was on that list. This is the first book I have been able to start and finish since May so I think it was a good choice. I might just re-read the whole series. We'll see. And now on to the actual book review.

Jane Jameson is on of my all time favorite characters. She is hilarious for one. Second she's just this down to earth, don't care what anybody thinks of me type of person. I really like her. I like Gabriel, her sire as well. Hell, I like all of the characters in this book. Zeb and his girlfriend and Andrea and even Dick. They all grow on you and make you love them!

This book has it all. A bit of romance, suspense and mystery. Most of all it has humor in spades. I laughed so hard through the whole book. The romance between Jane and Gabriel is even funny. My favorite is when they break the glass coffee table and have shards of it digging into them as they make out. All in all it's a great book and I highly recommend it. If you like humor in your romance than this book is definitely for you.

Favorite Quote:

"What are you doing here?" Gabriel demanded.
Dick squeezed my shoulder in a chummy gesture. "We're writing a vampire children's book, See Dick and Jane Bite. What do you think?"

Friday, October 17, 2014

Feature and Follow Friday #16

This is a weekly meme hosted by: Alison Can Read and Parajunkee that is aimed to help bloggers grow their audience and make new friends. They feature two bloggers every week and have a question for everyone to answer.

This weeks question:
Share the song you can't stop listening to.

I couldn't think of any particular song.  I listen to Pandora so I get a mix most of the time.  Nothing new has come out that really stuck with me lately.  The one song that keeps going through my head though is Greased Lightning from the movie Grease because my son keeps talking about auto class!  LOL  Fun fact: John Travolta lives about 15 minutes from me.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

(Review) Omega Mine ★★★☆☆

Author: Aline Hunter
Series: Alpha & Omega
Genre: Paranormal Romance
189 pages

A bond forged in blood. Fealty given to the one he desires above all others. Graced with the ability to shift into any form, Diskant Black is the absolute authority when it comes to New York shifters, and as the Omega of the city, his word is law. Protecting the shifter races is more than a job, it's a predisposition ingrained since birth-nothing is more important. Until a chance encounter with a tiny female sets fire to his blood, brings him to his knees and turns his world upside down. Ava Brisbane is more than he bargained for in a mate-beautiful, fragile...human. If he wants to keep her by his side, he'll have to sacrifice a portion of his soul to establish a bond that can never be broken. Unfortunately, the timing couldn't be worse. Shepherds-hunters of all the shifter races-have arrived in New York. To protect the woman he can't live without, Diskant will have to stand against those who have come to start a war.

Omega Mine is the first book in the Alpha & Omega series.  While I found it interesting it had a hard time keeping my attention.  It was a good story which is why I gave it 3 stars but it couldn't keep my attention.  I love shifter books and Diskant, as an Omega, is like the ultimate shifter.  He can shift into several different animals.  Ava is a telepathic who knows about shifters even though most people don't.  In this series shifters know who their mate is as soon as they meet them.  What happened after they met was pretty funny.

Of course with any book there has to be the bad guys.  In this case it's the Shepard's.  They hunt down and kill shifters because they say that they're demon possessed.   There's also a group of people that keep records of all the shifters and people like Ava that have extra sensory perception.  Seems a little overkill to me. 

I read this book 4 months ago so it's hard to remember all the details to do a review.  Please forgive the shortness of this review.  Thanks for stopping by.
Blogger Widgets